Update from current scholar: Sasheene Denny

Sasheene Denny received the Davies-Jackson Scholarship in 2012 and is now in her final year. She spent the summer touring Europe, as you’ll see in the photos below. Here’s what she’s been up to.

Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 08.08.47

Greetings everyone!

I write to you from the comfort of home in Milwaukee, WI.

This Christmas break will be filled with family, friends, studying and hopefully not too many sweets!

This term has been quite successful and I have been able to indulge in my passion for the study of gender history. This year began much more comfortably than last, no doubt to being familiar with my surroundings and having friends to look forward to seeing once more.

Queenie and Sasheene, hot but smiling behind Castel Sant’Angelo in Rome

Queenie and Sasheene, hot but smiling behind Castel Sant’Angelo in Rome

Last year was particularly difficult one for me, but Michaelmas 2014 has promised that this one will be the complete opposite.

One particular highlight was Thanksgiving. This year Queenie and I live in the same house and it has made my experience of Cambridge that much better.  We have a wonderful housemate and so we decided to invite several friends over for the American holiday and I was determined to (successfully and for the first time) make a turkey!

Sasheene having a pint in Prague!

Sasheene having a pint in Prague!

I must confess to be overly proud of my turkey as I was so intimidated beforehand, but with sage and encouraging advice from my mom I achieved my goal and (in my eyes at least) felt more ‘adult’ than ever.

The night was a wonderful success and it was filled with laughter and love. It was a day particularly special to me because of the profound respect that I received, as for most Native Americans, Thanksgiving is a day of great mourning.

Sasheene and Queenie being silly in Berlin

Sasheene and Queenie being silly in Berlin

That’s all from me, I hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday and you all find yourselves surrounded with joy and love!

Leave a Reply

