Update from current scholar: Queenie Ho

From travelling around Europe to hosting a Thanksgiving, current scholar Queenie Ho (2012) has been busy. Here are all the details. 



Queenie visiting St. Peter’s Basilica

Queenie visiting St. Peter’s Basilica

Hi all!  I hope everyone is enjoying this most wonderful time of the year.  Cambridge is absolutely stunning this season, and I’m happy to share that College and Market Square are decorated and sparkling prettily in the rain (because it isn’t England without some form of precipitation!).

Travels to Los Gigantes in Tenerife, Canary Islands

Travels to Los Gigantes in Tenerife, Canary Islands

Sasheene and I went on a Euro-trip last summer!  We went on a three-week trip to the Canary Islands (for some post-year beach days), Paris, Rome, Prague, and Berlin.  Europe is so incredibly amazing and beautiful and everything you can ever dream it to be. 

Queenie in Paris at the Luxembourg Garden

Queenie in Paris at the Luxembourg Garden

Out of all the places that we visited, my favorite cities are a tie between Paris and Prague.  Paris, because of the museums, and Prague because of the baroque architecture. 

The Mirror Room where Mozart once played!

The Mirror Room where Mozart once played!

I loved the Musee d’Orsay in Paris, and dare I say I enjoyed it more than the Louvre? They had a Van Gogh exhibition when I visited and nearly all of his works were there except Starry Night—which I still plan on seeing some day! 

The Coliseum in Rome

The Coliseum in Rome

View from inside the Coliseum

View from inside the Coliseum

And Prague—Prague was just fantastic.  We got lost a couple of times walking around, but it’s really the perfect way to explore the city.  Everything was beautifully historical!

Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 08.16.03

Obligatory photograph of a beach in Tenerife, Canary Islands

This term has been going very well, and Sasheene and I even hosted our very first Friendsgiving, where we bravely entered the world of turkey basting, cranberry sauce making, mash potato-ing and stuffing baking.

Sasheene, Courtney, and Queenie celebrating Friendsgiving.

Sasheene, Courtney, and Queenie celebrating Friendsgiving.

Academically, it’s been a busy, busy term!  It can best be summarized with the following, succinct equation:

(Work + Sleep)^∞  = LIFE

All joking matters aside, I’ve been mostly involved in the Division of Biological Anthropology trying to figure out what I want to do with my research. I’ve been working with my supervisor and will possibly be collaborating with the University of Helsinki for my thesis—which will look at birth weight and adult health.  In addition, in my spare time, I’ve been doing some lab work in the primatology lab testing new ways of extracting hormone from hair.   

The Biological Anthropology MPhil ladies and Queenie enjoying a little Christmas hoorah.

The Biological Anthropology MPhil ladies and Queenie enjoying a little Christmas hoorah.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

Leave a Reply

