Incoming scholar Courtney Dymowski

Welcome the latest addition to the Davies-Jackson group: incoming scholar Courtney Dymowski. 

_MG_6246

Greetings from Austin, Texas. My name is Courtney Dymowski and I am incredibly honored to be named this year’s recipient of the Davies-Jackson Scholarship. I recently graduated from St. Edward’s University with a B.A. in Photocommunications and a minor in Art History. 

I learned of the scholarship from my fellowship advisor, Caroline Morris, during the process of applying for the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Thailand.

419673_10151385159739774_1529447392_n

After submitting my Davies-Jackson application, it was not until early January that I was informed of the fantastic news: I had been awarded the Davies-Jackson Scholarship.

I was elated beyond belief and still, with only four months until I move to England, I cannot fully fathom this great opportunity and change that is about to occur.

Until the ‘big move,’ I have plans to spend as much time in Texas, yet still squeezing in a bit of travel.

I am going to be visiting my friend who is doing research in Ghana. We plan on traveling around the country, seeing things we both have yet to experience. I studied abroad there two years ago with this same friend and it should be exciting to go back to a country of which I am so fond. Aside from Ghana, I will be spending lots of quality time with friends and family at home. I have grand plans of going camping, swimming at all my favorite springs, having BBQ’s, listening to live music, and just soaking up the Texas rays prior to my departure.

1966709_10152251440779774_2081885378_n

Concerning Cambridge, apart from the weather and the monumental task of packing, I am very excited to begin studying the History of Art.

I can think of no better place to study art history than England where there is such a rich and fascinating history.

946978_10151998765664774_191311543_n

I have ambitious intentions of traveling as much and as widely as possible while abroad and I cannot wait for the challenges that go with reading at one of the top universities and living in another country.

Leave a Reply

