A Dubai move, a book, and a new adventure

If you’re busy, here’s the short version: I’ve written a digital book for the Guardian, have resigned from my London job, have published in quite a few national and international outlets, and now am over in Dubai working as an editor.

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 10.40.14

So I guess it’s been a bit of a busy couple of months.

In November, after several months of fitting freelance writing around my day job, I decided something had to change. Given the visa regulations in the UK, this decision wasn’t an easy one. I didn’t want to leave England, but at the same time had to pursue this crazy writing passion so many of us Davies-Jacksons experience.

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 10.39.58

Simultaneously, I was approached by the Guardian with a book deal. It was on the back of this piece, written about Charlotte Roach, an ex-Olympic trainee who was severely injured.

After several intense months, I accepted a job as a features editor for a lifestyle luxury magazine in the Middle East. I moved out here seven weeks ago. Already the job has been pretty fantastic. I’ve interviewed some rather impressive CEOs, spoken to my first Bollywood star from Slumgdog Millionaire, and am off on a press trip to Germany in a week.

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 10.41.03I am painfully homesick for my close friends back in England – those made, unsurprisingly enough, during my time as a Davies-Jackson. Fortunately, I had the joy of a Pentathlon Varsity match before I left to say ‘tata for now’. Already some of them are planning trips out to see me. Suspiciously, most of these trips are during the English winter…

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 10.41.40

As for the book, it will be coming out at the end of June. All of my proceeds will be donated to the charity which saved Charlotte’s life. I’ll keep you updated on that front.

Finally, back in January I wrote a piece for The Times on the Davies-Jackson Scholarship and our experiences. It will be coming out soon. I’ll also keep all of you updated.

There are rowers in Dubai!

There are rowers in Dubai!

So there’s me! Please do let me know if you’re ever in the UAE. It’s always nice to see other scholars and committee members.

Also, if you ever want to know a bit more, check out my blog: www.AmericanExplores.com 

Leave a Reply

