Current scholar Sasheene Denny updates on her Cambridge adventures

This year, we have not one, but two Davies-Jackson scholars. Here Sasheene Denny tells what she’s been up to these last few months. 

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 11.20.51

Hello, everyone! Things are going very well here.

It definitely took a week or two to get over the culture shock, to get oriented within my course, and to figure out where everything is!

Now, of course, I am settled in quite nicely. My activities are, I fear, rather boring.

I have mostly kept myself in the University Library, surrounded by the words of historians I’ll never live up to, my nose buried in a book, feverishly reading. And…it’s exhilarating.

I am particularly excited about supervisions. The experience of reading a book, thinking to myself, “Hmmm, I wonder what he meant by that,” is incredibly different here. Because in some cases, the professor I’m sitting across from every week is the very person who wrote that book!

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 11.22.13

I do plan on hopefully becoming more active within the Feminist Society – in fact, right after I finish writing this I will be reading articles to discuss with a reading group tomorrow. Every day that I’m here, I think of how grateful I am to have this opportunity.

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 11.23.12

Walking down the lane to the History Faculty, sitting in the Seeley Historical Library, taking breaks from reading in the UL Tea Room – everywhere I go I am confronted with the utter dream-like situation I have found myself in.

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 11.22.45

I only hope that I will be able to explore more of the city, and perhaps become more involved in University activities. Until then, I have more wonderful reading to do and essays to write!

Leave a Reply

